top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhea McSpadden

Final artist statement

When I was a kid I was always told not to play with my food, but I’ve always thought…why not?!

For this installation, I projected videos of me eating a variety of foods onto open toilet seats. The toilet seats were placed at different heights on the wall, with cartoon drawings filling the space between, creating a playful composition. The videos show me eating and playing with different foods in grotesque ways. I was focused on maximizing the potential of the toilets as a canvas, so I covered each surface in video, vibrant still images, and collages of the two. Each toilet was loosely tied to a food category but some took on several combinations.

With this piece, I hope to encourage people to play and not take life so seriously! In a world with so much division, it is important to remember that everybody eats and everybody shits (in my opinion two of the most pleasurable activities) it is what makes us human!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading Blog #3

https://www.stirworld.com/see-features-ksawery-kirklewski-s-multifaceted-practice-combines-the-many-aspects-of-digital-art The article explores the multifaceted practice of Ksawery Kirklewski, a Polis

Reading Blog #2

https://www.theverge.com/2023/3/27/23657927/ai-pope-image-fake-midjourney-computer-generated-aesthetic The article discusses a new AI-generated image of Pope Francis created by Midjourney. The image i

bottom of page