top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhea McSpadden

Brainstorm #3

To be completely transparent, I have been having some difficulty collecting ideas for this project and determining the direction I want to go in. To gain some inspiration, I referred to past work I have made. When looking to an exhibition I did many years ago about ocean degradation, I was reminded of a project where I projected a video of me collecting trash from the coastline onto the trash bags that I filled. For this project, I thought it could be interesting to take on a similar approach. This would include projection mapping ocean creatures and plants onto a large pile of trash bags. This project would not only be visually interesting but would also be a larger commentary on ocean pollution and conservation. In this project, I would play around with sizing the animals and plants and movement in order to create a more surreal visual. Another idea I have been playing around with is creating some kind of musical, visual storm. For this I would create a series of large clouds that would hang from both the ceiling and along the wall. These clouds would be correlated to a soundscape of an imagined storm and would light up to different sounds. I was also really inspired by the work of Tony Oursler and thought it would be cool to create distorted humanoid forms and project onto those. One thing I was thinking was having these forms on top of something that looks like an electrical wire–(making the human forms like birds gossiping on the electrical line).

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final artist statement

When I was a kid I was always told not to play with my food, but I’ve always thought…why not?! For this installation, I projected videos of me eating a variety of foods onto open toilet seats. The toi

Reading Blog #3

https://www.stirworld.com/see-features-ksawery-kirklewski-s-multifaceted-practice-combines-the-many-aspects-of-digital-art The article explores the multifaceted practice of Ksawery Kirklewski, a Polis

bottom of page